FamilyLife Blended® Minute

Stages of Grief

with Ron Deal | November 20, 2023
Play Pause

Today, I'm on my soapbox.

  • Show Notes

  • About the Guest

Today, I’m on my soapbox.

Stages of Grief

With Ron Deal
November 20, 2023
| Download Transcript PDF

Ron: Today, I’m on my soapbox.

Announcer: For FamilyLife Blended®, here’s Ron Deal.

Ron: There are five stages of grief, right? Denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and then acceptance. But this stage model from Elizabeth Kubler-Ross applied to people who are dying not those left behind. She studied anticipatory grief and that’s it. And, I can’t find any empirical evidence that says these stages exist let alone that you go through them in any particular order. But still we apply her model to all forms of grief, from the loss of a child, to divorce, to dead cats.

Look, grief is a journey not a destination and you can’t predict the path. Don’t program grief. Just walk the journey with God and the people who love you. For FamilyLife Blended, I’m Ron Deal.

Announcer: To find out more visit

FamilyLife Blended with Ron Deal is a production of FamilyLife®.

We are so happy to provide these transcripts to you. However, there is a cost to produce them for our website. If you’ve benefited from the broadcast transcripts, would you consider donating today to help defray the costs?


Copyright © 2023 FamilyLife®. All rights reserved.